Sainte-Croix et son patrimoine (Anglais)

 

Architectural heritage

The castle
First documentation of a castle in Sainte Croix dates back to 1173.  The castle was destroyed during the Wars of Religion and later rebuilt in the same place.  Anne Charlotte de Chanlecy's grand father bought it in 1626.  Of its middle ages appearance, only the main facade remains.

The church
The church of Sainte Croix is entirely made of bricks. It was built in the 13th century, and often modified over the years. It shelters the tombstone of Etienne de Sainte Croix and Jean-Francois de Chanlecy;s stained glass. Anne-Charlotte de Chanlecy and her two sons are buried under the sanctuary.

The mill
When entering the village, you can find over the river Solnan one of the few watermills still in operation today. It has been working for centuries and belongs to the Coulon family since 1859.  Its flour is famous in the area.

The heritage of Sainte Croix
Sainte Croix (pop. 600) is a charming Bresse village, located 8km South of Louhans, with a picturesque main street, a 15th century Gothic church, a 17th century castle and a working watermill.  It is the village of Anne-Charlotte de Chanlecy, baroness of Sainte Croix, who was the wife of famous musketeer d'Artagnan.

Nature
Sainte Croix has been built on the banks of Solnan, a river that originates in Revermont in the hills of the Jura and flows into the Seille in Louhans.  The river has carved the landscape over the years.  It is a fishy river with perches and pikes. A pike spawning area has been developed upstream of the village, in La Culee.

* Beavers
They live on the Solnan.  Lodges can be seen in Sainte Croix as well as felled trees carved by beavers.

* European bee-eaters
This small bird with a superb plumage lives on the Solnan's eroded banks and feeds on bees, hornets and drones.

* Pikes
They are common in the Solnan, with a green-grey body with golden spots.  They can reach a size of 1,4 m and weigh up to 55 pounds.